Users

User roles

There are two predefined user roles on the Mercury.ai platform. On the one hand, there is the Organization owner who has the full set of permissions regarding the organization. The organization owner has full control over all the subparts of the organization globally. On the other hand, there is the project owner who has full access and control over every part of a bot project. She can grant and withdraw permissions for the project and configure, which users have what kind of rights on the project. Furthermore, there are also project owner specific permissions like editing the project settings that cannot be granted for other users (you find a detailed list in Permissions). All of the other user roles can be set up within an ample set of permissions.

How and where can I change organization permissions of a user

In general, there are two ways to make changes to the organization's permissions of a user. If you have permission to create new user accounts, you can configure the permission set up during the creation process of a user account:

Go to Organization > Users and click on Create new user account. Now you have the option to select those permissions you want to grant to the user. It looks like this:

Setting permissions for a new user

Mark those permissions you want to grant for the user and she will have them from the first log-in on.

The second way of setting organization permissions is for already signed up users. You find the full list of users in the same place (Organization > Users). If you have the right to view permissions, you can view permissions of users by clicking on the information icon in the column. If you have permission to make changes to a user, the icon will be an edit pencil in the very same place.

View user looks like this:

How to view a user

Edit user looks like this:

How to view a user

Change project permissions of a user

If you want to set up a user so that she can start working on a project exactly as her role in the project requires her, there is a two-step way of proceeding. Before a user can do anything at all in the project, she needs to have the right to work on it. This can either be done on the Organization level or within a project.

The first way is enabling a user to work for a project on Organization level. You can do this by navigating to Organization > Users. Now, click on the user and expand the Permissions and Projects section. Now you can choose for projects of your organization or partner organization(s) on which projects the user may work on:

Enable a user for working on a project

The second option is to enable a user from your organization at project level. For doing just that, navigate to your project and then click on Team in the menu. This is where you get an overview about the project team that is being eanbled to work on this project. If you want to make changes to the team like taking someone away from the project, you can do this by clicking on Edit project team:

Project Team overview

You will see a full list of the users of your organization and can enable new users and disable others who currently have the permission. By marking those users who should be included in the project, you enable them. Keep these changes by clicking on Save.

Assign a user to a project

In the next step, you can edit the detailed permission set of a user for a project. This can be configured within your project in Team. When you navigate there, you can click on the Edit icon in the row of each user. There you can set in detail which parts of the project a user may work on and which parts she cannot access (on the meanings of each permission, read the article on Permissions).

Set the user permissions for a project

Within this window, you can set user specific permissions. However, you can also copy a set of permissions from another user. This is handy e.g. when you have different roles within the project that are being represented by different users. All you have to do is select the user you want to copy the permissions from and then click on Save. In this way, you only have to decide on the exact permission set once and save time for the next user.

As a user: Is it possible to make changes to my account?

The e-mail address of a user is something that can be viewed and changed within the user profile. All users are able to make changes to their own user profile. Just click on Your Name > Profile. There you find the most basal settings of your profile.

Your profile is being divided into four different categories: Your profile details, Authentication, Accounts, and Handover.

In the profile details, you can make changes to the most basic settings of your profile, like your name or your e-mail address. By clicking on Edit details, you can make changes to the different entries.

The Authentication section is for everything related to the security of your account. Here you can change the Two Factor Authentication (TFA), change your password and manage your Backup codes. FYI: Backup codes are essential for logging into your account whenever errors occur with your TFA. So, if you want to be able to always log in, make sure to create backup codes and to safely store them.

Accounts is for the management of third party accounts like Facebook. These accounts are important for different settings. Facebook for example is necessary for the case that you want to set up a Facebook channel via the Mercury.ai platform. There you can set up your Facebook account connection, or you can change the permission or completely delete the connection.

The last part, Handover, is necessary if you are a service agent and if you want to set the times of reachability for a certain project. There you can configure at what times you want to be notified whenever a new user request is being triggered by a bot user.